The Goldsmiths Prize Shortlist Special

The Goldsmiths Prize Shortlist Special

By The New Statesman

Tom Gatti heads to a pub in New Cross, south London, to meet the six shortlisted authors for the Goldsmiths Prize, which is awarded annually to a work of fiction that breaks the mould. Will Self, Sara Baume, Kevin Davey, Nicola Barker, Jon McGregor and Gwendoline Riley each read from their books, as well as talking about what led them to experiment with the novel form. The winner of the 2017 prize will be announced on 15 November and the winning author will appear at Cambridge Literary Festival on 26 November.

Get in touch on Twitter via @ns_podcasts or @tom_gatti.

The shortlisted novels:

Phone by Will Self

A Line Made By Walking by Sara Baume

Playing Possum by Kevin Davey

H(A)PPY by Nicola Barker

Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor

First Love by Gwendoline Riley

For more details visit the Goldsmiths Prize website here.

Thanks very much to Ashley Simpson and Liron Zisser of Goldsmiths University.

Our theme music is "God Speed" by Pistol Jazz, licensed under Creative Commons.

Hosted on Acast. See for more information.

Heart UK