An Author Special About Navigating and Embracing Failure with Elizabeth Day

The High Low

By Pandora Sykes and Dolly Alderton

An Author Special About Navigating and Embracing Failure with Elizabeth Day

We discuss Lorraine Kelly’s “performative construct”, Dolly’s piece about I’m In Trouble syndrome and what we don’t know - and need to know - about women in prison, rehabilitation and reform. 


And we deep-dive into perfectionism, failure and why society needs to re-frame the idea of “childless” women, with novelist and High Low returning guest, Elizabeth Day, whose memoir How To Fail comes out on April 4th. 


Tweet @thehighlowshow

E-mail thehighlowshow@gmail.com


The High Low is now on Easter holidays. We’ll be back in May! 


How To Fail, by Elizabeth Day https://www.waterstones.com/book/how-to-fail/elizabeth-day//9780008327323?awc=3787_1553638468_1a3ae434886bc59cdb0f76a91f73672c&utm_source=176013&utm_medium=affiliate&utm_campaign=Shopping+FM

Brave, Not Perfect, by Reshma Saujani https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/561367/brave-not-perfect-by-reshma-saujani/9781524762339/

Inheritance, by Dani Shapiro https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/554262/inheritance-by-dani-shapiro/9781524732714/

Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant, by Joel Golby https://www.hive.co.uk/Product/Joel-Golby/Brilliant-Brilliant-Brilliant-Brilliant-Brilliant--Modern/21821485

Jailbirds, by Mim Skinner https://www.orionbooks.co.uk/titles/mim-skinner/jailbirds/9781841883328/

On the enduring feeling that you’re doing something wrong, by Dolly Alderton for The Sunday Times Style https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/dolly-alderton-on-that-enduring-feeling-that-you-ve-done-something-wrong-ckl8wpj6s

MotherFatherSon on BBC iPlayer 

Hell Yes, I’m Tough Enough fundraising page: https://www.justgiving.com/crowdfunding/ben-alderton

Emilia at The Vaudeville Theatre: https://www.nimaxtheatres.com/shows/emilia/

After Life on Netflix: https://www.netflix.com/gb/title/80998491

The emotional life of primates: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/fresh-air/id214089682?mt=2&i=1000432961859

Interviews with Cat Marnell: https://www.thecut.com/2019/03/cat-marnell-money-book-deal.html

https://www.thecut.com/2017/01/cat-marnell-how-to-murder-your-life.html

 

See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.


-
-
Heart UK