Six Impossible Episodes: Prison Breaks

Six Impossible Episodes: Prison Breaks

By iHeartPodcasts

Stuff You Missed in History Class

Wednesday, 11 May

Dramatic prison escapes often have some common themes -- they often include a lot of tunneling. Here are six highly ingenious and low-violence prison breaks from history. 

Research:

"Warriors, witches and damn rebel bitches: The Scotswomen who stood their ground." Herald [Glasgow, Scotland], 15 Sept. 2019. Gale In Context: Global Issues, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A599477490/GPS?u=mlin_n_melpub&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=32ea1a50. Accessed 18 Apr. 2022. Abashiri Prison Museum. https://www.kangoku.jp/multilingual_english/ Alcatraz History. “The Great Escape from Alcatraz.” https://www.alcatrazhistory.com/alcesc1.htm Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Pennsylvania system". Encyclopedia Britannica, 20 Jul. 1998, https://www.britannica.com/topic/Pennsylvania-system. Accessed 20 April 2022. Callow, John. “Maxwell, William, fifth earl of Nithsdale.” Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. 10/27/2010. https://doi.org/10.1093/ref:odnb/18413      Carlos, Marius Jr. “Yoshie Shiratori: The Incredible Story of a Man No Prison Could Hold.” Breaking Asia. 2/3/2020. https://www.breakingasia.com/gov/yoshie-shiratori-the-incredible-story-of-a-man-no-prison-could-hold/ Cho, Hahna. “Escape from Libby Prison.” Backstory Radio. 9/28/2018.  https://www.backstoryradio.org/blog/escape-from-libby-prison/ Detwiler, Jacqueline. "How Popular Mechanics inspired the most Famous escape in history." Popular Mechanics, vol. 195, no. 1, Jan.-Feb. 2018, pp. 74+. Gale In Context: Science, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A522758178/GPS?u=mlin_n_melpub&sid=bookmark-GPS&xid=e0949ca7. Accessed 18 Apr. 2022. Eastern State Penitentiary https://www.easternstate.org/ Eastern State Penitentiary. “"That's Where the Tunnel Is".” Via YouTube. 10/12/2010. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4dgaKHfbGlo Eicke, Leigh. "Maxwell [née Herbert], Winifred, countess of Nithsdale (1672–1749), Jacobite courtier." Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.  23. Oxford University Press. Date of access 20 Apr. 2022, FBI. “Alcatraz Escape.” https://www.fbi.gov/history/famous-cases/alcatraz-escape Kurohi, Rei. “French gangster escapes prison a second time: 5 other serial jailbreakers from around the world.” The Straits Times International Edition. 7/2/2018. https://www.straitstimes.com/world/french-gangster-escapes-prison-a-second-time-5-other-serial-jailbreakers-from-around-the-world Lewis, Robert. "Alcatraz escape of June 1962". Encyclopedia Britannica, 4 Jun. 2021, https://www.britannica.com/event/Alcatraz-escape-of-June-1962. Accessed 20 April 2022. Murray, Jean. “The Law Must Take Its Course – Limerick Women Sentenced to Transportation.” Limerick Civic Trust, September 2005 – August 2006. https://www.limerick.ie/sites/default/files/atoms/files/limerick_women_sentenced_to_transportation_by_jean_murray.pdf  Schreiber, Mark. “News outlets quick to fall in love with prison break coverage.” Japan Times. 5/5/2018. Slater, Sharon. “9 Limerick Women Escape Prison in 1930.” Limerick’s Life. 10/17/2013. https://limerickslife.com/limerick-women-prison/ Stamp, Jimmy. “The Daring Escape From the Eastern State Penitentiary.” Smithsonian. 11/13/2013. https://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/the-daring-escape-from-the-eastern-state-penitentiary-180947688/ Stater, Victor. "Herbert, William, styled first marquess of Powis and Jacobite first duke of Powis (c. 1626–1696), Jacobite courtier." Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.  24. Oxford University Press. Zombek, Angela. "Libby Prison" Encyclopedia Virginia. Virginia Humanities, (07 Dec. 2020). Web. 20 Apr. 2022 https://encyclopediavirginia.org/entries/libby-prison/

See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.

-
-
Heart UK
Mute/Un-mute